Gothchyld's Diary

Midnight
winds; relished thoughts
revel like oasis
wounded memories metamorphose
new start

Examining Malala's Nobel Peace Prize - she doesn't need to win, she already is a testament

Saturday, Oct. 12, 2013 @ 8:30 a.m.

It's Nobel Prize time again. With my lack of knowledge in sciences, my focuses are on peace and literature laureates.

While mum is proud that Alice Munro, a Canadian, has won the literature prize, being scientifically challenged, my mind is all over Peace prize as there are some amazing nominees. (More like their causes are also what I care so I pay more attention)

With so much attention on Malala Yousafzai, the 16 year old advocate who was shot by Taliban by speaking out for education, here's my two cents on her.

Personally, Malala doesn't need to win. She is already a testament of peace. To have the courage to speak out on BBC Urdu and still advocate for education despite threats and assassination attempts is inspiring and brave. I can't wait to see her projects.

As I was helping bro to decipher the problems in constructing history for his class (Let's say his history class was taught from a philosophical/art approach, leaving him frustrated as a social scientist), I thought of how this related to the mixed comments of Malala in her native Pakistan. On one hand, she defines identity, she is the pride, the brave girl of Pakistan, on the other, she is the stigma that is to be forgotten - the whistleblower who showed what happened to the world, in turn making the village more vulnerable for attacks. Some even accused her of getting herself out of Pakistan through that incident, and being a CIA agent. Perhaps, not winning is a good thing, in the sense that there are less threats and dangers for Malala, and she can truly pursue her goals.

I am not the sociology or anthropology expert. But perhaps this "virtue" of silence traces back to the culture of Bedouin tribes in Middle East, who consider women possessions of men as men are the head of nuclear family. Unfortunately, even as the tribes migrate and settle, the honour system and nuclear family system have not evolved. Thus, speaking out becomes a crime of authoritarian suppression. Let's hope that more brave individuals will reshape such situation.

Overtime, I believe Malala will continue to inspire many. Hopefully, there will be less innocent shot by Taliban, and more children who can get out of the vicious cycle of illiteracy.
Along with Dr. Denis Mukwege and OPCW, thank you for restoring hope and humanity despite the dangerous circumstances. Thank you for reminding me that love and peace are always the choices, no matter how life-threatening and conflicted those ideas sound.

Let's hope Nobel Peace laureates really inspire us to rethink and reshape our world into a better place, one step at a time.

PS I know, this is advocacy/int'l affairs overload, but what can I do? They are transforming stories and I am on nerd mode.

PPS Kudos to bro's reading, I could also go onto colonialism, but other half does it better and you are all probably having a brain freeze now, right?  

 

Letter to my high school self

Saturday, Sept. 28, 2013 @ 2:18 a.m.

My parents were recently hooked on a Korean drama about time travel. The main character went back in time in hopes to change depressing events to positive ones, only to reconstruct his reality as well.

This sparked the question: will you time travel?

The only occasion I will do so is to talk with my 15/16 year self who is curious about the future and if the master life plan took place. Since this is impossible, I shall write a letter..

Dear younger self,

I sit on the office chair at home to report back to you. Even though you may never read it, I write back because I know you are curious about the future, and if your dreams (the master plan) is implemented after almost a decade later.

I remembered you as that smart girl who cynically evaluate various philosophies of life, but passionately bicker on every political cause that you cared for. While you impressed others with your planned ambitions for work, you know you live behind a mask in hopes to be happy by trading your emotions and withhold the tears in exchange for corporate dress shirts.

While you dream to achieve stardom through creative writing, you also know that you write because words is the sanctuary that enables you to unleash the bursting barrels of melancholy. Also, without S and A, you would never feel so validated as a whole person.

Almost a decade later and it's time to report on the life plan. As you dreamed, I did major in English and Art History. I also ended up adding Writing & Rhetoric as a minor when I realized I could get a minor with only 2 more courses. Through twist and turns, I became a teacher, but also reserve the possibility to return to the art world with my experiences in museums and auctions houses. The only surprise was that I got enchanted by East Asia art's delicate riddles and Renaissance art relegated into "beautiful life like works".

However, I am sorry that I took a 2 year hiatus from creative writing instead of working on AP full throttle. That was due to a past relationship and art history classes. The art history training actually flare up my works as I strive to make stories and poems aesthetically beautiful too. However, what I learned is that creative writing is never about business, it's all passion and inspiration. Without passion and ideas, you can never truly live the infinite realm of words, nor express such love and grace through it.

Regarding politics and humanities, I am still the same as you are. So ready to dive into an intellectual discussion or lecture, and pen the politically sensitive articles to raise awareness. The latest one was war zone rape in Syria, and hey, already prepared to have that censored in Arab World. Whilst I still ponder on Nietzsche's and Kant's thoughts from time to time, I am very grateful to have found God, and to love and be a light to others just as God rescued me through a family friend few years ago.

Now, the big questions: relationships and master plan continued. I know your ideal bf is mature and protective, but after a few relationships, your ideals fail unless you can act dumb and perky. I'm very blessed that I found my other half who may send very straightforward messages w/ little emotions, and go off fb when busy. However, he's the few who can spur with me intellectually, and understands my plethora of emotions.
Big plus: I still write creatively. It's a long story how we met and got into a relationship.

Now, onto life plan. I'm still in for following your passion and changing the world one word at a time. I have ventured beyond Allpoetry, with an emotional abuse blog on wordpress and occasional requests on editing academic essays and research. Still working on publishing a book under my name, but it will be non-fiction on emotional abuse. (Big change right?) That's because I hope more people can transform their scabs into beautiful scars, and inspire others.

Teaching has made me witness the many imperfect families, so I'm not sure if I'd go for psychologist or return to the art world to earn more money. After that, it's dessert shop. Remember how you ran to SBUX so much for fraps to soothe that inner sadness?I want to open dessert shops to provide a sanctuary for others, and if it happens, one that can enable individuals with physical or mental disabilities to make a living. C, life is not about perfection, and love isn't just expressed by protests for minority groups.
Life is an ongoing learning process, and love embodies care, patience and faith. To see my readers thriving from abuse's aftermath after many opening ups is one of the biggest joys this year.

I am sorry this is very long. Looks like I didn't deviate so much from your awesome master plan, but just changed some for the better? Stay inquisitive and beautiful. :)

Much love,
GG

PS FYI, S didn't reply on internet now. Guess it's my turn to inspire another after his help. Plus, w/ rapper friend as sessional creative partner, and other half as guest editor for my book, isn't that a dream come true?  

 

Letter to my high school self

Saturday, Sept. 28, 2013 @ 2:18 a.m.

My parents were recently hooked on a Korean drama about time travel. The main character went back in time in hopes to change depressing events to positive ones, only to reconstruct his reality as well.

This sparked the question: will you time travel?

The only occasion I will do so is to talk with my 15/16 year self who is curious about the future and if the master life plan took place. Since this is impossible, I shall write a letter..

Dear younger self,

I sit on the office chair at home to report back to you. Even though you may never read it, I write back because I know you are curious about the future, and if your dreams (the master plan) is implemented after almost a decade later.

I remembered you as that smart girl who cynically evaluate various philosophies of life, but passionately bicker on every political cause that you cared for. While you impressed others with your planned ambitions for work, you know you live behind a mask in hopes to be happy by trading your emotions and withhold the tears in exchange for corporate dress shirts.

While you dream to achieve stardom through creative writing, you also know that you write because words is the sanctuary that enables you to unleash the bursting barrels of melancholy. Also, without S and A, you would never feel so validated as a whole person.

Almost a decade later and it's time to report on the life plan. As you dreamed, I did major in English and Art History. I also ended up adding Writing & Rhetoric as a minor when I realized I could get a minor with only 2 more courses. Through twist and turns, I became a teacher, but also reserve the possibility to return to the art world with my experiences in museums and auctions houses. The only surprise was that I got enchanted by East Asia art's delicate riddles and Renaissance art relegated into "beautiful life like works".

However, I am sorry that I took a 2 year hiatus from creative writing instead of working on AP full throttle. That was due to a past relationship and art history classes. The art history training actually flare up my works as I strive to make stories and poems aesthetically beautiful too. However, what I learned is that creative writing is never about business, it's all passion and inspiration. Without passion and ideas, you can never truly live the infinite realm of words, nor express such love and grace through it.

Regarding politics and humanities, I am still the same as you are. So ready to dive into an intellectual discussion or lecture, and pen the politically sensitive articles to raise awareness. The latest one was war zone rape in Syria, and hey, already prepared to have that censored in Arab World. Whilst I still ponder on Nietzsche's and Kant's thoughts from time to time, I am very grateful to have found God, and to love and be a light to others just as God rescued me through a family friend few years ago.

Now, the big questions: relationships and master plan continued. I know your ideal bf is mature and protective, but after a few relationships, your ideals fail unless you can act dumb and perky. I'm very blessed that I found my other half who may send very straightforward messages w/ little emotions, and go off fb when busy. However, he's the few who can spur with me intellectually, and understands my plethora of emotions.
Big plus: I still write creatively. It's a long story how we met and got into a relationship.

Now, onto life plan. I'm still in for following your passion and changing the world one word at a time. I have ventured beyond Allpoetry, with an emotional abuse blog on wordpress and occasional requests on editing academic essays and research. Still working on publishing a book under my name, but it will be non-fiction on emotional abuse. (Big change right?) That's because I hope more people can transform their scabs into beautiful scars, and inspire others.

Teaching has made me witness the many imperfect families, so I'm not sure if I'd go for psychologist or return to the art world to earn more money. After that, it's dessert shop. Remember how you ran to SBUX so much for fraps to soothe that inner sadness?I want to open dessert shops to provide a sanctuary for others, and if it happens, one that can enable individuals with physical or mental disabilities to make a living. C, life is not about perfection, and love isn't just expressed by protests for minority groups.
Life is an ongoing learning process, and love embodies care, patience and faith. To see my readers thriving from abuse's aftermath after many opening ups is one of the biggest joys this year.

I am sorry this is very long. Looks like I didn't deviate so much from your awesome master plan, but just changed some for the better? Stay inquisitive and beautiful. :)

Much love,
GG

PS FYI, S didn't reply on internet now. Guess it's my turn to inspire another after his help. Plus, w/ rapper friend as sessional creative partner, and other half as guest editor for my book, isn't that a dream come true?  

 

-

Friday, Sept. 13, 2013 @ 9:17 a.m.

My birthday is coming up and when I was younger, I would make quite a deal with well thought out gifts in mind, e.g. The Baby G watch.

However, when I am in university, aside from the "let's beat last year's bday dinner" bash, I am just grateful to live and to write.

This year, I have decided to donate to UNICEF's Syria Crisis appeal. Syria-Lebanon relations have been dear to me, since I wouldn't be here without my creative partner and family in Lebanon. This is the least I can do, but to end the massacre in Syria and unrest in Middle East is no easy task.

It was so heartbreaking several years to know my friends were running for their lives, and I really don't want to endure this heartbreak again. Hopefully, one day I can finally go to Beirut in peace.  

 

The 10th legacy

Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2013 @ 9:37 a.m.

Summer's over and school has changed all over again.

This summer, my wordpress on all things abuse/dysfunctional has become a site of its own. I have (finally) revealed my own story with my speech "Your Scars are Beautiful" via U of T Engineering Toastmasters Club, and saw others make their own inspiring speeches.

I wondered if I will teach special needs or be in a class this year, but because of construction issues, I am now making materials all day. While I chuckle how talent is often splattered for the wrong uses (we have plenty of company), I finally understand how material maker has absolutely no sense of security and does not want to even make materials all day for another year.

However, this means more time and banter. As 2014 will be my 10th year of writing, I have decided to publish a book to celebrate.

After many experiences with not so perfect families and even abuse, I have decided to compile all that encounters into a book. No worries, I have learned to delegate and requested several individuals to pen on various chapters.

Time to transform scars from scabs and turn them into something beautiful, eh?  

 

:: Cursed Milestone? ::

Sunday, Sept. 01, 2013 @ 9:35 p.m.

Soon after the last entry, I've realized the weeks-sore-in-my-gums revealed a sign I hit another milestone towards WISDOM =x.

I've realized after a debate/discussion with YWL brought an emotional revelation that I'm still totally not over my scars/trauma and still have that 'hero' idealism within.

FA and JNME rship more or less back to norm. But JNME and GSW gets complicated, and so's mine and shim eversince I found out shim not changed after fall apart with FA.

PMS miraculously stopped when I hit another milestone.

No breather. Vegetarian with CLH, TGI with colleagues (+OT thx to GSW, but won my 1st othello game against YWL, ftw!), MLM WV Pre-launch w/ CLH, OT Thurs...

..and the latest record of OT on Fri! Way past midnight! First time I felt spiteful over firework celebrations due to working my a$$ off.

Cursed? Prob, but if karma/yinyang works that way it is told... prob it won't be too bad to suffer now..?

//3 more months.

- DD 

 

< PREVIOUS