Gothchyld's Diary

Midnight
winds; relished thoughts
revel like oasis
wounded memories metamorphose
new start

.:: Movie Reviews &Thank Yous::.

11 April 2004 @ 4:34 p.m.

Current Mood: Thoughtful

Having to finally watch the "Girl with Pearl Earrings", now I know why it has been removed from cinemas soon after it just have been released, but before I give my reason... I would like to thank 2 people who understood what I'm going through, who listened to me, are all ears and whose mind is open and not all clouded up with the upcoming Formal event. *mutters* Seriously... fairytales nowadays... gives the wrong impression.

***

Anyway out of the people I know, it was really unexpected that you two to have opened up your eyes, know what's happening all around and knew that there's something wrong with me. Thank you Ellen and Darlios, you guys have been great. When it turns out that you both will hear me out, I was quite suprise as I didn't know both of you too well, but I'm quite glad to release it from inside. Thanks for trying to cheer me up, it helped a bit but it's better than nothing... I know it's a little too late as we had spoke about it last last week but all the sudden I'm in the mood for writing in here, I feel a bit better and wanna thank you guys. Guess we have a bit of similiarity... we all experienced and feel that way and all.Once again thank you so much!

***

Ok, now back to why the Girl with the Pearl Earrings is removed quickly...After watching the film, it left me thinking that I'm so damn happy that I read the book before watching it. It also left me wondering whether books and films are better. Books has a greater advantage than films. All I can say that the film of the Girl with the Pearl Earrings is not as great as the book itself. Seriously... the film, I must say, is pathetic... plain not too detailed and the main character does not say much. It sucks... and the ending is not truely the ending... it leaves the film kinda hanging. But it's good in a way that it gives a better visualisation of the time and place the story is set in. And the characters too. You guys should read the book first before watching the movie... it's much more better, gives more detail and has a much better structure compare to the film. Sure, I mean, for those lazy bums, who doesn't like reading novels or that kind of book and are not/small ability to try to convert the words into a picture/image but are curious to know why it's famous, is a great advantage to watch the film and know what it's all about... but it does not cover as much as the book does. The book is brilliant... but the movie is not. More descriptive but if you really want to have a clearer image than the film would have been best to visualise the story a bit better. Oh yea, and one of the soundtrack is good too but overall the film is neither too terrible nor brilliant and a bit below OK.

Oh yea.... I almost forgot, "Cold Mountain" is not too bad. For those who haven't watch it yet and planning to buy the DVD and who cries in movies easily and loves romantic movies, it might be best not to watch it. One thing.... you'll cry alot (and no, I did not cry while watching it) and you might think that the film is horrible when you have high expectations on the romance bit. But hey, the courage and determination bit of Jude Law, Renee Zellweger and Nicole Kidman is quite good. Pretty amazing infact.

At the moment I'm watching another movie, old film, which cheered me up alot during the holidays. The soundtracks of that film is good and all sang by one singer, I love it. One of the song is put into the chatboard section. Let say that that song is what I enjoyed most of all and had cheered me up a bit when I was feeling down and pissed. Anyway I feel a bit better and still enjoy watching that film. Oh by the way, this song that you are hearing while reading this is another good song from the film. =) Unbelievable that I spent most of my time watching movies instead of revising. Guess that watching movies is good when you wanna waste time, don't feel like revising and when you need to lighten up.

Anyway... I've got an announcement to make, a treat. I've been given two free tickets to watch a movie called "Enter the Phoenix". A Chinese comedy with a bit of action and a tiny bit of romance... quite funny as I watched the trailer. In that movie there's Stephen Fung (who's also the director of the film), Daniel Wu, Karen Mok, Eason Chan, Law Ka Ying and a few other actors with Jackie Chan as an Executive Producer of the film. Might be going on Tuesday... does anyone wanna watch with me?


<bgsound src="http://user2.net163.com/xuefei53/music/here-i-am.wma" loop="infinite"> 

 

< PREVIOUS