Gothchyld's Diary

Midnight
winds; relished thoughts
revel like oasis
wounded memories metamorphose
new start

On long term plans

Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2011 @ 12:29 p.m.

It took me a long time to (finally) realize and confess that being in academia/research is my long term plan.

The wonderful thing about teaching is that it is a stable profession. If you get in, you can teach for a very long time. The not-so-great side is that you may just be a teacher for the next 20 years.

This brings the question of my long term plans. What surprised me is that unlike the common answer of being principal or opening one's own school/nurseries etc, I want to train future educators or be even more of an information professional (aka academia)

But really, this isn't surprising when I already take part in intellectual community with works cited, censored blog posts (was discussing about North Korea's role in WTO conference) and literature right? I just hope that I don't need to rant on College Misery.  

 

:: Post Rabbit CNY ::

Sunday, Feb. 13, 2011 @ 10:59 p.m.

Mon got co. ang pau and YWL scared us during lunch, as we were joking abt him being a potential robber. Did lots of catching up with ol' friends: NCS, Nush, G1, JOKF and JR this whole week. Slept lil on Tues8 cause family addicted to mah-jong and needed a person. Won despite being all tired/ditzy during the play and end up feeling super tired the nxt 2 days. 10/11 where prep for the grandious Hokkien 9th Jade Emperor bday is going on, gas ran out so to Tien Xia dinner and again yday when BYYX came over. Fri11 work ended perfectly and caused me to look like an happy idiot for 2 days cause I can't stop replaying the jokes without grinning (chrysanthemum-mulberry leaves and fish) in my mind. Today will start to try Vinigen AV maintenance to burn all the yummy food away (hopefully).

- DD 

 

-

Monday, Feb. 07, 2011 @ 9:36 a.m.

I think I will eventually annoy my friends by (binge) posting facebook notes so isn't it great that there's diaryland to blog my thoughts.

A snapshot of GG's CNY holidays!

* CNY holiday = K-drama marathons
Parents are keen K-drama fans and decide to catch up and explore K-dramas. Welcome to 2am marathons.

N.B. Drama addiction runs in my family, we have an interesting assortment of K-drama, J-drama and anime fans. Did I mention that my extended bro uploaded every TVB show on DC ++ during his undergrad days?

* What holidays?
I thought I have teaching break for one week. But I ended up editing bro's English essay (the joys of an English major lol) and teaching cousin English.

* Snow day!
Canadian high schools don't usually have CNY holidays so bro was extremely happy that 20cm of snow = snow day holiday! However, my uni stayed classy by pushing reading week to late Feb and not issuing a snow day.

GG's discoveries for CNY:

* Realized that I am a nerd at heart after I decide to attend lectures on social media (facebook!) and teach kids Shakespeare like a fat kid who loves chocolate.

The lecture that I am attending is on the effects of new media in China - see "My father is Li Gang" case.

* Should totally launch an intro to social media class.

* More creative projects!
I will be penning Dreams 3 and Flower Tales, as well as submitting some poems in Flower Tales for journal submissions.

Dreams 3's theme is life. I am focusing on the abstract essences of life (e.g. what defines it) rather than the phases of one's life so need lots of research!
I want RAs to read some Umberto Eco and Jostein Gaardner! But that's until I get funded first!

* Shakespeare
Gonna dig research papers on anatomy in Shakespearian times to write my paper. Hmm...seminar presentation from my student next time?

Lastly, happy CNY to you all! :)

 

 

:: Bloated Unique Rabbit CNY ::

Sunday, Feb. 06, 2011 @ 1:54 p.m.

Mon 31/01, work.. nothing special. Tues 01/02 FT PH, CCH to Melaka til tonight, did more CNY cleaning and found out that cleaning with DNC makes ppl feel super lame ("Stupidity is contagious" -- that's sooo true, ;p), Tien Xia dinner with BYYX and playing mah jong til 1am.

Wed, 02/02... half day work, felt super tired from 3hrs sleep, did nothing 'work-related' but 'personal-related' (e.g. late rabbit-hole updates) and went straight to CLH's hse for reunion lunch by train (touch N go works!) after work. Reunion dinner @ Ah Q/Q-yong's hse and stayed there til 12-ish am due to ppl playing more mah jong.

Thurs, 03/02 1st day, hot sunny day, vegetarian at ah yie hse.. still bloated frm day before, rush day... went through 6 hses within 4hrs. Back to ah yie's for dinner... bonding with nephew through dota.

Fri, 04/02 2nd day, meat-getarian at the usual hse, limited space and had to stand eat, still bloated, BYYX came over, PD trip cancelled =(, more bonding with nephew, accompany nephew's mom to leisure, skipped dinner cause of having supper buffet frm Tsui's treat to a boggling 246.50 Neway at 9pm. Forced-on-us seafood dishes (sushi, oyster, crab, etc) and 4-5 kampai glass, 4-5 forced-on-me songs, sneak pay back for the treat and back home at 12-ish am. BYYX slept over, we're too damn bloated to sleeeeeppp.

Yday, since PD trip cancelled, want to sleep in and diet but was woken up by CKK with another ultimate shock: forced-go to Neway again with cousins and aunties including partial-buffet/set-brunch at 11am. Exclusive room, Noodle/pizza/chips/creamsoup, 3-4 forced-on-me songs sang with croaked voice due to day before.

Back at 2pm, I thought I could finally rest but at 7.21pm, Tsui came over with plans to Neway again since it was her chi bday! But somehow managed to alter plans, had family dinner with her family and forced-went to a pub cause of DNC�s �supposedly-joke� suggestion afterwards. 8 beer bottles, drank 4 glasses there (+ 1 at dinner) and managed out from drinking more thanks to BYYX, as we went for a breather and a girl talk. Learnt a lot about my cousin, about myself, BYYX and living/earning-style of the pub�s staff community, head back at 11ish pm to play mah-jong til past 1.30am.

Today finally can rest at home! Though there might be mah-jong game. However since this happens once a yr�I do not mind the eventful/chaotic cny I had to go through! But regretted pigging out =P. Bad: 5++ mozzie kiss, rushful, lack sleep, lack personal time, cancelled trip, extreme wet/hot weather and misabusing body. Good: Mahjong learning, more family bonding, new discoveries and experiences, fun, not losing alot of cash by not gambling cards, narrow-save from 'karoake-phobia', being able/knowing how to save myself when it's time to head back home (by looking normal after getting flushes-but-not-pissed) and lots more! ;p Happy CNY!

- DD 

 

< PREVIOUS